Apr 3, 2023
Potatoes USA board adds new members

Thirty producer members and two importers have joined the Potatoes USA board of directors.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture conducted a swearing-in ceremony for the members on March 14 during its annual meeting. Sixteen members were reappointed, while 16 new members were appointed for three-year terms expiring in 2026.

Alex Caryl, branch chief of the market development division of the USDA’s Agricultural Marketing Service’s Crops Program, officiated the ceremony.

Each year, board member candidates are proposed by the industry and appointed by the Secretary of Agriculture after a thorough review.

The 2023 board has 93 members reflecting a broad spectrum of industry knowledge and experience.

The Potatoes USA board sets strategy goals and objectives and allocates resources to initiatives including marketing, research and education.

New board members are:

  • Jim Corneillie, Arizona
  • Trever Belnap, Idaho
  • Ben Josephson, Idaho
  • David Mundt, Idaho
  • Jeff Irving, Maine
  • Eric Makarewicz, Michigan
  • Sander Dagen, Minnesota
  • Tom Nilson, North Dakota
  • Dave Masser, Pennsylvania
  • Rhonda Kleyn, Washington
  • Blake Underwood, Washington
  • Levi Underwood, Washington
  • Jake Wardenaar, Washington
  • Charlie Husnick, Wisconsin
  • John D. Schroeder, Wisconsin
  • Aron Derbridge, importer member

Reappointed members are:

  • Kamren Koompin, Idaho
  • Ryan Moss, Idaho
  • Andrew Porath, Idaho
  • Justin Searle, Idaho
  • Jennifer Gogan, Maine
  • David Fedje, North Dakota
  • Casey Folson, Minnesota
  • Jess Blatchford, Oregon
  • Troy Sorensen, Nebraska
  • Steve Barrett, Texas
  • Juan Martinez, Washington
  • Dennis Wright, Washington
  • Michael Carter, Wisconsin
  • Josh Knights, Wisconsin
  • Kevin Schleicher, Wisconsin
  • Kathy DeVries-Ruehs, importer member


75 Applewood Dr. Ste. A
P.O. Box 128
Sparta, MI 49345


Get one year of Spudman in both print and digital editions for FREE. Preview our digital edition »

Interested in reading the print edition of Spudman?

Subscribe Today »

website development by deyo designs