Sep 9, 2019
LaJoie Farms honored as McCain Foods Champion Grower for ’18-19

McCain Foods honored some of its top potato providers during its annual banquet in Presque Isle, Maine in August by announcing its Champion Grower awards program winners.

Taking the highest honor as the 2018-19 Champion Grower was LaJoie Farms, based in Cyr Plantation, Maine. Mike and Phil LaJoie, who are retiring, were recognized during the banquet, which drew 300 people. Bart Bradbury serves as field manager for the operation, which has produced nearly 60,000 truckloads of spuds for McCain since their partnership began more than 40 years ago.

McCain’s Champion Grower awards program includes three categories: field direct delivery, winter storage delivery and refrigerated storage. Top finishers by category were:

Field direct delivery

  • 1st: Grass Farms, Mars Hill (Duane Grass, Kevin Grass)
  • 2nd: West Ridge Farms, Mars Hill (Garth Lundeen, Trent Lundeen, Ward McLaughlin, Logan McLaughlin, Taylor McLaughlin)
  • 3rd: Griffeth Farms, Limestone (John Griffeth, John Griffeth Jr., Matt Griffeth, Steven Griffeth)

Winter storage delivery

  • 1st: LaJoie Growers, Van Buren (Dominic LaJoie, Gil LaJoie, Lucas LaJoie, Jay LaJoie, Sky LaJoie)
  • 2nd: Dana Morrell, Caribou (Dana Morrell, Dana Morrell Jr.)
  • 3rd: Country Super Spuds, Mars Hill (Darrel McCrum, Nick McCrum)

Refrigerated storage delivery

  • 1st: Snow Road Farms, Bridgewater (Derek Kilcollins, Wayne Bradbury)
  • 2nd: Landeen Farms, New Sweden (Michael Landeen, Shawn Landeen)
  • 3rd: B.D. Grass & Sons, Blaine (Brent Grass, Neil Grass)

McCain Foods Limited Chairman Allison McCain was on hand to individually congratulate the honorees. In his address, McCain commented on the value of the growers and recognized their endurance through tough times, as well as their drive to improve.

Other McCain management on hand to congratulate the growers included: Christine Wentworth, vice president of agriculture North America; David Good, director of ag supplier relations NA; Dale McCarthy, vice president of integrated supply chain GNA; Dave Giroux, Easton plant manager; and Bart Bradbury, field department manager.

Leigh Morrow, director of agronomy East, received special focus as he has announced his retirement after 22 years of working with McCain in addition to several more in the potato industry. Morrow thanked all the growers for their cooperation over the decades. He will retire this October. Jim Clark was also recognized for his retirement after 32 years.

Participants in the Young Grower Development Program received thanks for their willingness to learn. Chris Flewelling, Joel Guerrette, Logan McLaughlin, Jordyn Madore, Zachary Pryor and Mason Turner attended a two-day event of education and touring.

Top photo: The McCain Top 10 Growers for the 2018-19 season, along with company officials, gather at the annual growers banquet. From left are, standing: Dana Morrell Sr., Field Department Manager Bart Bradbury, Chairman of McCain Foods, Allison McCain, McCain VP of Integrated Supply Chain Dale McCarthy, Taylor McLaughlin, Director of Agriculture NA David Good, Bryant Grass, Logan McLaughlin, Lane Grass, Kevin Grass, Neil Grass, Brent Grass, Mitchell Grass, Nick McCrum, Wayne Bradbury, Colin McCrum, Darrel McCrum, John Griffeth Sr., Matt Griffeth, Field Department Field Rep Jaylee Fox, Field Department Scheduler/Storage Manager Brent Bradley, Steve Griffeth, John Griffeth Jr., Charlie Griffeth, Derek Kilcollins, Dana Morrell Jr., Trent Lundeen, Field Department Field Rep Nicholas Fanning, Sky Lajoie, Easton Plant Manager Dave Giroux and VP of Agriculture NA Christine Wentworth. Front row: Mike Landeen, Shawn Landeen, Duane Grass, Marilyn LaJoie, Mike LaJoie, Jay LaJoie, Gil LaJoie and Lucas LaJoie.

75 Applewood Dr. Ste. A
P.O. Box 128
Sparta, MI 49345


Get one year of Spudman in both print and digital editions for FREE. Preview our digital edition »

Interested in reading the print edition of Spudman?

Subscribe Today »

website development by deyo designs