Nov 6, 2023
Idaho Potato Commission names McCain Foods executive new chair

The Idaho Potato Commission chose a new chair and vice chair, in addition to adding a new member, at its October meeting.

Paul Saito, field manager for McCain Foods USA, is the commission’s new chair. Saito, a third-generation farmer and native of Ontario, Oregon, is a graduate of Oregon State University who began his career with McCain in 2002.


Career farmer and entrepreneur Mark Darrington of Big D Farms, the new vice chair, is currently a partner in humanitarian agricultural development in Kenya.

Mike Telford of Sun Valley Seed and a grower from Paul, Idaho, was sworn in to serve a three-year term.

Telford joins six other IPC members who represent Idaho growers, shippers and processors and help drive the commission’s marketing and research programs.

“The IPC is continually committed to strengthening the Idaho potato brand through a multitude of marketing programs,” Jamey Higham, IPC president and CEO, said in a news release. “Mike is a great addition and boasts a wealth of knowledge and respect amongst growers and the industry as a whole. Paul and Mark have provided tremendous leadership over the past three years, and I’m confident they will continue to guide world-famous Idaho potatoes toward new heights.”

The IPC was established in 1937. Its nine members are:

  • Paul Saito, McCain Foods, chair
  • Mark Darrington, Big D Farms, vice chair
  • Mike Telford, Sun Valley Seed
  • Daren Bitter, Bittersweet Farms
  • Brett Jensen, Brett Jensen Farms
  • Brian Jones, Sun Valley Potatoes
  • Mark Duncanson, Basic American
  • Bryan Wada, Wada Farms
  • Eric Jemmett, J&S Farms

75 Applewood Dr. Ste. A
P.O. Box 128
Sparta, MI 49345


Get one year of Spudman in both print and digital editions for FREE. Preview our digital edition »

Interested in reading the print edition of Spudman?

Subscribe Today »

website development by deyo designs