Feb 7, 2014
WPVGA presents annual industry awards

The Wisconsin Potato & Vegetable Growers Association (WPVGA) recognized several members of Wisconsin’s potato industry at its annual awards banquet on Feb. 5 at Stevens Point.

Myron Soik was inducted into the WPVGA Hall of Fame. Soik, 79, is a longtime potato grower and owner of Myron Soik & Sons, based Stevens Point. Soik was recognized by the WPVGA for his lifetime achievement in the development of the state’s potato industry.

Ron Krueger was named the WPVGA volunteer of the year. Krueger has been the farm manager at the Eagle River location of Felix Zeloski Farms for more than 20 years. He previously received the volunteer of the year award in 2006.

Krueger is the chairman of the WPVGA research committee; a member of the WPVGA SpudPro committee; serves on the WPVGA board of directors and serves on the Wisconsin Seed Potato Improvement Association board, where he is the vice president and chairman of the Seed Promotions Committee.

Josh Mattek, of J.W. Mattek & Sons, based in Deerbrook, was named WPVGA young grower of the year. Mattek is the current president of the Wisconsin Seed Potato Improvement Association and serves on the WPVGA board of directors.

A.J. Bussan was named WPVGA researcher of the year. Bussan is a horticulturalist at the University of Wisconsin in Madison.

Jeremie Pavelski, 2013 WPVGA president, presented president’s awards to his wife Alicia Pavelski and his father, Richard Pavelski.

Special Industry Appreciation awards were presented to Gary and Lynda Bula, Jeff Wyman, Ron Mach and the staff at the Hancock Agricultural Research Station.

75 Applewood Dr. Ste. A
P.O. Box 128
Sparta, MI 49345
Interested in reading the print edition of Spudman? Preview our digital edition »

Get one year of Spudman in both print and digital editions for FREE.

Subscribe Today »

website development by deyo designs