Mar 20, 2007
Montana Growers Join United

United Potato Growers of America (UPGA) has added a new member co-op – United Potato Growers of Montana. The Montana group is the eighth co-op to join UPGA. United Potato Growers of Montana represents nearly 10,000 seed potato acres and approximately 60 seed growers.

Seed potato growers form the foundation of the industry on the production side,” said Albert Wada, UPGA board of directors chairman. “We are pleased to welcome the Montana seed potato growers to our organization. With eight co-ops now representing the major U.S. growing areas, United continues to gain the critical mass of potato grower representation and unity required to be able to sustain profitability for growers.”

The United Potato Growers of Montana appointed the following as board of directors officers: Dennis Day, president; Art Mangels, vice president; Meghan Mangels, secretary-treasurer. Other board members include: Arnold Foust, Bill Kimm, Nick Schutter and Steve Streich.

“Montana seed potato growers realize the importance of supporting our industry by joining United,” Day said. “Through our organization, Montana seed growers will be able to work in unison with other seed growers. We will be able to ensure varieties and quantities to meet expectations and requirements of potato growers.” “

75 Applewood Dr. Ste. A
P.O. Box 128
Sparta, MI 49345
Interested in reading the print edition of Spudman? Preview our digital edition »

Get one year of Spudman in both print and digital editions for FREE.

Subscribe Today »

website development by deyo designs