Nominations sought for annual PMA awards

Nominations are now being accepted for a series of annual Produce Marketing Association’s (PMA) awards, given to recognize members of the global fresh produce industry. Winners will be announced at PMA’s Fresh Summit International Convention and Exposition, Oct. 18-20 in New Orleans. Nominations will close Friday, August 16.

The Impact Award for Excellence in Packaging recognizes companies throughout the supply chain who are maximizing opportunities to sell more fresh produce and floral products through innovative packaging. A panel of packaging experts and produce industry veterans award points based on a set of five criteria: marketing, food safety, supply chain efficiency/functionality, sustainability and consumer convenience. The combined point totals from each criterion will determine the five winners. Learn more about the Impact Award and how to submit your application here

The Robert L. Carey Leadership Award honors one individual who has demonstrated outstanding leadership skills and an uncommon commitment to PMA and the produce industry. The recipient will be chosen by a panel of five judges, including last year’s recipient Mike O’Brien, vice president of produce and floral at Schnuck Markets; Janet Erickson, senior director of supply chain operations of Brinker International; Robert DiPiazza, consultant of DiPiazza Consulting Services; Ted Campbell, executive director of Florida Strawberry Growers Association; William M. Schuler, president and CEO of Castellini Company; and PMA President and CEO Bryan Silbermann. Read more about the award and submission process here

Submission forms and instructions can be found on PMA’s website. For additional information about the Impact Award, contact PMA’s Leadership Relations Assistant, Elaine Bange by telephone at +1 (302) 738-7100 ext. 3085 or by email at For information about the Floral Marketer of the Year and Rob

Originally posted Thursday, Jun. 27, 2013

Tags: pma, produce marketing association