NPC industry awards

The National Potato Council honored a number of individuals during the 2013 Potato Expo in Las Vegas.
Jim Carlson of Culver, Ore., was presented with the 2012 Seed Grower of the Year award and Willem Schrage of Grand Forks, N. D., was presented with the Meritorious Service Award during the seed breakout session.

At the NPC annual awards banquet the following awards were presented:

Former NPC president, Don Sklarczyk of Johannesburg, Mich., was presented with the 2012 Gold Potato Award.

The 2012 Potato Man for All Seasons was presented to Ben Kudwa, former executive director of the Michigan Potato Industry Commission. Kudwa served as MPIC executive director from 1986-2012.

Kimm Seed Farm owners, Bill Kimm, his sons Jason, Mark and Alan, his brother, Scott Kimm and Alan Benema, from Manhattan, Mont., were presented with the 2012 Environmental Stewardship Award.

See photo gallery here.

Originally posted Monday, Jan. 14, 2013